In the Night

In the night

the trees take a life

of their own.

The leaves look like small little black birds

swaying in the wind.

I can see the dark outline

of their branches,

somehow clearer,

in the dark.

And I realise then

humans are not so unlike trees.

Don’t we too

act how we really are

when we think no one is watching?  Image

Author: portia21

I am a book worm, a lover of literature, an adorer of art, a bleeding heart, a tree hugger, a liberal, a day dreamer. I long to travel the world and the ideal job for me would be to get paid to read all day. Theater is sublime and I sometimes wished my life played out like a musical (so obviously I am a spaz about Glee) I respect nature, think meditation is the answer to life, am fascinated with water and animals, especially dogs and wolves. I try to watch foreign and independent film whenever possible and enjoy trying new ethnic cuisines. But here's a quick list of my faves to give you a better picture about me: Best book: Druids by Morgan Llywelyn (notable runners up - 1916 also by Morgan Llywelyn, The Lord of the Rings, A Fine Balance by Rohan Mistry, To Kill a Mockingbird & of course, Harry Potter) Best Movie: Moulin Rouge Best Musial: it's a tie between Les Miserables & Fiddler on the Roof, I"m a classic kind of girl like that.... Fave music - Chico Trajillo, Buena Vista Social Club, Red Hot Chilli Peppers & Fiona Apple Best vacation - Chile home away from home - Bangladesh, up North, as in Northern Minnesota Dream tour: Southeast Asia If I lived outside of MN in the US it would be: Seattle, Portland, Northern CA or NYC. The artist: Monet, Dali Best food: Asian, all cuisines, hands down my friends! yum yum fave color - black, green, blue Basically, I'm in love with the world and in love with words, hence this blog....

Leave a comment